Main content

Get Fossilling on the Jurassic Coast! Come and join in with one of local geologist Paddy Howe's famous Fossil Walks along this historic stretch of Dorset coast.    
"A lucid, intriguing and humourous trip along the shore with Paddy & Chris" - Robert Plant

Paddy and Chris

Prices and Booking

Your fossil walk ticket gives you FREE access to the museum where you will be able to see displays of rare fossils, learn all about Mary Anning, the famous early palaeontologist who once lived on the site of the museum and much, much more.

Cost: £11 adults, children and students £6.

Times for the walks vary according to the tides.

Please contact us on This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. if you are planning a trip to Lyme and would like to know about availability on our walks.

Full payment is needed at time of booking so please have your card details ready when you phone 01297 443370

Alternatively, UK residents may send a cheque for the full amount made payable to 'Lyme Regis Museum' to arrive at least 48 hours before the day of the walk. It is, of course, possible to make bookings in person at the Museum.

No refunds will be possible for bookings cancelled less than 48 hours before the day of the walk.

If, for any reason, the walk has to be cancelled by us then full refunds will be given.

Some families return time and again to search with Paddy and Chris among the sand and rocks for fossils that have been washed-down onto the beach after 150 million years. For adults and children alike, it’s an unforgettable experience. Click on Fossil Finds to see some of the fossils found on previous walks.

Each walk is limited to 20 people per guide and you need to allow up to three hours. Walks can fill up quickly on the day so please call us and book a place before travelling any great distance.

There is a useful smart-phone app from Maprika which lets you view WD Lang's Geological Maps of Lyme whilst on the beach. Lang was an early Curator of Lyme Regis Museum. Click here to learn about the app.

Current Fossil Walks Timetable


  • Sunday 1st 11.30am
  • Monday 9th 9.00am
  • Tuesday 10th 9.00am  FULLY BOOKED
  • Wednesday 11th 9.00am  FULLY BOOKED
  • Thursday 12th 9.00am
  • Friday 13th 9.15am
  • Saturday 14th 9.45am
  • Sunday 15th 10.15am
  • Monday 16th 11.00am
  • Tuesday 17th 11.30am
  • Wednesday 18th 12.15pm
  • Tuesday 24th 9.00am
  • Wednesday 25th 9.00am
  • Thursday 26th 9.00am
  • Friday 27th 9.15am
  • Saturday 28th 10.00am
  • Sunday 29th 10.45am
  • Monday 30th 11.15am


  • Wednesday 9th 9.00am
  • Thursday 10th 9.00am
  • Friday 11th 9.00am
  • Saturday 12th 9.00am
  • Sunday 13th 9.30am
  • Monday 14th 10.15am
  • Tuesday 15th 10.45am
  • Wednesday 16th 11.30am
  • Thursday 17th 12.15pm
  • Friday 18th 1.15pm
  • Monday 28th 10.15am
  • Tuesday 29th 11.00am
  • Wednesday 30th 11.30am
  • Thursday 31st 12.00am

2016 Dates


  • Friday 8th January 9.00am
  • Saturday 9th January 9.00am
  • Sunday 10th January 9.00am
  • Monday 11th January 9.30am
  • Tuesday 12th January 10.00am
  • Wednesday 13th January 10.45am
  • Thursday 14th January 11.30am
  • Friday 15th January 12.15pm
  • Saturday 16th January 1.00pm
  • Friday 22nd January 9.00am
  • Saturday 23rd January 9.00am
  • Sunday 24th January 9.00am
  • Monday 25th January 9.30am
  • Tuesday 26th January 10.00am
  • Wednesday 27th January 10.30am
  • Thursday 28th January 11.00am
  • Friday 29th January 11.30am
  • Saturday 30th January 12.00am


  • Sunday 7th February 9.00am
  • Monday 8th February 9.00am
  • Tuesday 9th February 9.15am
  • Wednesday 10th February 10.00am
  • Thursday 11th February 10.30am
  • Friday 12th February 11.15am
  • Saturday 13th February 11.45am
  • Sunday 14th February 12.30pm
  • Saturday 20th February 9.00am
  • Sunday 21st February 9.00am
  • Monday 22nd February 9.00am
  • Tuesday 23rd February 9.15am
  • Wednesday 24th February 9.45am
  • Thursday 25th February 10.15am
  • Friday 26th February 10.30am
  • Saturday 27th February 11.00am
  • Sunday 28th February 11.30am
  • Monday 29th February 11.45am


  • Monday 7th March 9.00am
  • Tuesday 8th March 9.00am
  • Wednesday 9th March 9.15am
  • Saturday 12th March 11.00am
  • Sunday 13th March 11.30am
  • Monday 14th March 12.15pm
  • Tuesday 15th March 1.00pm
  • Wednesday 21st March 9.00am
  • Tuesday 22nd March 9.00am
  • Wednesday 23rd March 9.00am
  • Thursday 24th March 9.15am
  • Friday 25th March 9.45am
  • Saturday 26th March 10.15am
  • Sunday 27th March 11.30am
  • Monday 28th March 12.00am
  • Tuesday 29th March 12.30pm


  • Tuesday 5th April 9.00am
  • Wednesday 6th April 9.00am
  • Thursday 7th April 9.30am
  • Saturday 9th April 11.00am
  • Sunday 10th April 11.45am
  • Monday 11th April 12.15pm
  • Monday 18th April 9.00am
  • Tuesday 19th April 9.00am
  • Wednesday 20th April 9.00am
  • Thursday 21st April 9.15am
  • Friday 22nd April 9.45am
  • Saturday 23rd April 10.15am
  • Sunday 24th April 10.45am
  • Monday 25th April 11.15am
  • Tuesday 26th April 11.30am
  • Wednesday 27th April 12.00am
  • Thursday 28th April 12.45pm


  • Wednesday 4th May 9.00am
  • Thursday 5th May 9.00am
  • Friday 6th May 9.00am
  • Saturday 7th May 9.45am
  • Sunday 8th May 10.30am
  • Monday 9th May 11.15am
  • Tuesday 10th May 12.00am
  • Wednesday 11th May 12.30pm
  • Wednesday 18th May 9.00am
  • Thursday 19th May 9.00am
  • Friday 20th May 9.00am
  • Saturday 21st May 9.15am
  • Sunday 22nd May 9.45am
  • Monday 23rd May 10.15am
  • Tuesday 24th May 10.45am
  • Wednesday 25th May 11.15am
  • Thursday 26th May 12.00am
  • Friday 27th May 12.30pm


  • Friday 3rd June 9.00am
  • Saturday 4th June 9.00am
  • Sunday 5th June 9.30am
  • Monday 6th June 10.15am
  • Tuesday 7th June 11.00am
  • Wednesday 8th June 11.45am
  • Thursday 9th June 12.15pm
  • Friday 10th June 1.00pm
  • Friday 17th June 9.00am
  • Saturday 18th June 9.00am
  • Sunday 19th June 9.00am
  • Monday 20th June 9.15am
  • Tuesday 21st June 10.00am
  • Wednesday 22nd June 10.30am
  • Thursday 23rd June 11.15am
  • Friday 24th June 11.45am
  • Saturday 25th June 12.30pm
  • Sunday 26th June 1.15pm


  • Saturday 2nd July 9.00am
  • Sunday 3rd July 9.00am
  • Monday 4th July 9.15am
  • Tuesday 5th July 10.00am
  • Wednesday 6th July 10.45am
  • Thursday 7th July 11.30am
  • Friday 8th July 12.00am
  • Saturday 9th July 12.30pm
  • Sunday 10th July 1.15pm
  • Sunday 17th July 9.00am
  • Monday 18th July 9.00am
  • Tuesday 19th July 9.00am
  • Wednesday 20th July 9.45am
  • Thursday 21st July 10.15am
  • Friday 22nd July 11.00am
  • Saturday 23rd July 11.45am
  • Sunday 24th July 12.15pm
  • Monday 25th July 1.00pm
  • Sunday 31st July 9.00am
  • Friday 31st July 9.15am


  • Monday 1st August 9.00am
  • Tuesday 2nd August 9.00am
  • Wednesday 3rd August 9.45am
  • Thursday 4th August 10.30am
  • Friday 5th August 11.00am
  • Saturday 6th August 11.45am
  • Sunday 7th August 12.15pm
  • Monday 8th August 12.30pm
  • Tuesday 9th August 1.00pm
  • Tuesday 16th August 9.00am
  • Wednesday 17th August 9.00am
  • Thursday 18th August 9.15am
  • Friday 19th August 10.00am
  • Saturday 20th August 10.45am
  • Sunday 21st August 11.30am
  • Monday 22nd August 12.15pm
  • Tuesday 23rd August 12.45pm
  • Monday 29th August 9.00am
  • Tuesday 30th August 9.00am
  • Wednesday 31st August 9.00am


  • Thursday 1st September 9.30am
  • Friday 2nd September 10.15am
  • Saturday 3rd September 10.45am
  • Sunday 4th September 11.15am
  • Monday 5th September 11.45am
  • Tuesday 6th September 12.00am
  • Wednesday 7th September 12.30pm
  • Thursday 14th September 9.00am
  • Thursday 15th September 9.00am
  • Friday 16th September 9.00am
  • Saturday 17th September 9.45am
  • Sunday 18th September 10.30am
  • Monday 19th September 11.15am
  • Tuesday 20th September 11.45am
  • Wednesday 21st September 12.30pm
  • Wednesday 28th September 9.00am
  • Thursday 29th September 9.00am
  • Friday 30th September 9.00am


  • Saturday 1st October 9.45am
  • Sunday 2nd October 10.15am
  • Monday 3rd October 10.45am
  • Tuesday 4th October 11.15am
  • Wednesday 5th October 11.30am
  • Thursday 6th October 12.00am
  • Friday 14th October 9.00am
  • Saturday 15th October 9.00am
  • Sunday 16th October 9.15am
  • Monday 17th October 10.15am
  • Tuesday 18th October 11.00am
  • Wednesday 19th October 11.30am
  • Thursday 20th October 12.15pm
  • Friday 21st October 1.00pm
  • Friday 28th October 9.00am
  • Saturday 29th October 9.00am
  • Sunday 30th October 9.00am
  • Monday 31st October 9.00am


  • Tuesday 1st November 9.15am
  • Wednesday 2nd November 9.45am
  • Thursday 3rd November 10.15am
  • Friday 4th November 10.45am
  • Saturday 5th November 11.15am
  • Sunday 13th November 9.00am
  • Monday 14th November 9.00am
  • Tuesday 15th November 9.00am
  • Wednesday 16th November 9.30am
  • Thursday 17th November 10.15am
  • Friday 18th November 11.00am
  • Saturday 19th November 11.45am
  • Sunday 20th November 12.30pm
  • Sunday 27th November 9.00am
  • Monday 28th November 9.00am
  • Tuesday 29th November 9.00am
  • Wednesday 30th November 9.00am


  • Thursday 1st December 9.15am
  • Friday 2nd December 10.00am
  • Saturday 3rd December 10.30am
  • Sunday 4th December 11.00am
  • Monday 5th December 11.45am
  • Tuesday 13th December 9.00am
  • Wednesday 14th December 9.00am
  • Thursday 15th December 9.15am
  • Friday 16th December 10.00am
  • Saturday 17th December 10.45am
  • Sunday 18th December 11.30am
  • Monday 19th December 12.15pm
  • Wednesday 28th December 9.00am
  • Thursday 29th December 9.00am
  • Friday 30th December 9.00am
  • Saturday 31st December 9.45am


Special Walks

  • It’s sometimes possible to book a special fossil walk for just your family or group.
  • Please contact us if you would like to find out more about this.
  • We can provide special fossil walk vouchers, which make a unique gift.

School and Student Groups

We now offer fossil walks for school and student groups. Please contact us for more details by emailing us at:This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.;"> This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. or by ringing us on: 01297 443370. Alternatively our full contact details are available on our contact page. Download the Fossil Walk Risk Assessment (PDF, 87KB)

We have two experienced walk leaders (Paddy and Chris) and will take up to 40 fossil hunters on a walk provided both are available.

We always try to keep our visitor/guide ratio below 20:1 so everyone on the walks will get a high level of input on what to look for and what they have found.

Fossil Walk Tips

  • Walks leave promptly from outside the museum. Please arrive 10 minutes before departure time.
  • The walk is over uneven ground on the beach to the East of Lyme.
  • You’ll need to be reasonably agile and steady on your feet and should wear walking books or wellies and suitable clothing and headgear for the weather. We advise bringing a rucksack so you can collect fossil and remain hands-free. Bring a drink and snack. If you are bringing children under 8, we advise that they should have a particular interest in fossils and a good attention span!

Please note that walks always go ahead, whatever the weather, unless it is unsafe to do so.

Further information on walks, talks and exhibitions at Lyme Regis Museum: